BESS comparison
Pylontech Container L5000-BAT vs Trina Storage Elementa 2
Both columns come from what Pylontech and Trina Storage publish. Fields either maker does not publish are marked «not published»; we do not estimate or rank.
Pylontech
Container L5000-BAT
5.016 MWh
20 ft containerliquid-cooledLFPshipping
Trina Storage
Elementa 2
5.015 MWh
20 ft containerliquid-cooledLFPshipping
Specifications side by side
| Field | Pylontech Container L5000-BAT | Trina Storage Elementa 2 |
|---|---|---|
| Max energy per enclosure | 5.016 MWh | 5.015 MWh |
| Max power per enclosure | 2.5 MW | not published |
| Published durations | 2 h · 3.3 h | not published |
| Segment | utility-scale | utility-scale |
| Status | shipping | shipping |
| Cell chemistry | LFP | LFP |
| Cell capacity | not published | 314 Ah |
| Cell configuration | not published | 1P416S12P |
| Cell supplier | not published | not published |
| Form factor | 20 ft container | 20 ft container |
| Block type | DC block | DC block |
| PCS integrated | no | no |
| DC voltage | 1164–1497 V | 1123.2–1497.6 V |
| Cooling | liquid-cooled | liquid-cooled |
| Ingress protection | IP55 | IP55 (container, excl. TMS); IP67 module |
| Operating temperature | -20…50 °C | -30…50 °C |
| Dimensions (L × W × H) | 6058 × 2438 × 2896 mm | 6058 × 2438 × 2896 mm |
| Weight | 43 t | 42.5 t |
| Energy density | not published | not published |
| Round-trip efficiency | not published | not published |
| Cycle life | 8,500 · Cycle Life >8500, Depth of Discharge 98% (single string); test conditions not stated | 10,000 · Datasheet claim: 'up to 10,000 cycles with 0 degradation in first half year'; test conditions not published |
| Calendar life | not published | not published |
| Warranty | not published | not published |
| Fire suppression | aerosol | automatic aerosol-based fire suppression system; water-based suppression optional; heat/smoke/gas sensors, active ventilation |
| Generation | M7-20ft | 2 |
| Announced | not published | not published |
| Certifications | CE, IEC 62040-1, IEC 62619, UL 1973, UL 9540A, VDE 2510-50 | CE, IEC 61000-6-2/4, IEC 62477-1, IEC 62619, IEC 62933-5-2, IEC 63056, UL 1973, UL 9540, UL 9540A, UN38.3 |
| Public datasheet | yes | yes |
Where they differ
Only fields both manufacturers publish and where the values are not identical. Not a judgement — the right choice depends on the project.
- Max energy per enclosure: Container L5000-BAT — 5.016 MWh; Elementa 2 — 5.015 MWh
- DC voltage: Container L5000-BAT — 1164–1497 V; Elementa 2 — 1123.2–1497.6 V
- Ingress protection: Container L5000-BAT — IP55; Elementa 2 — IP55 (container, excl. TMS); IP67 module
- Operating temperature: Container L5000-BAT — -20…50 °C; Elementa 2 — -30…50 °C
- Weight: Container L5000-BAT — 43 t; Elementa 2 — 42.5 t
- Cycle life: Container L5000-BAT — 8,500 · Cycle Life >8500, Depth of Discharge 98% (single string); test conditions not stated; Elementa 2 — 10,000 · Datasheet claim: 'up to 10,000 cycles with 0 degradation in first half year'; test conditions not published
- Fire suppression: Container L5000-BAT — aerosol; Elementa 2 — automatic aerosol-based fire suppression system; water-based suppression optional; heat/smoke/gas sensors, active ventilation
- Generation: Container L5000-BAT — M7-20ft; Elementa 2 — 2
- Certifications: Container L5000-BAT — CE, IEC 62040-1, IEC 62619, UL 1973, UL 9540A, VDE 2510-50; Elementa 2 — CE, IEC 61000-6-2/4, IEC 62477-1, IEC 62619, IEC 62933-5-2, IEC 63056, UL 1973, UL 9540, UL 9540A, UN38.3
Published by only one of the two: Max power per enclosure, Published durations, Cell capacity, Cell configuration.
Variants
Pylontech Container L5000-BAT variants
| Variants | Energy | Power | Duration |
|---|---|---|---|
| M7-20ft-5MWh at 0.5C | 5.016 MWh | 2.5 MW | 2 h |
| Min. configuration 3344kWh/1000kW | 3.344 MWh | 1 MW | 3.3 h |
Trina Storage Elementa 2 variants
| Variants | Energy | Power | Duration |
|---|---|---|---|
| 5.015 MWh (314 Ah, 12 racks × 4 modules), 2–4 h | 5.015 MWh | not published | not published |
| 4.073 MWh (306 Ah, 1P416S10P, 10 racks × 4 packs), 2–6 h | 4.073 MWh | not published | not published |
Full model cards
Open Pylontech Container L5000-BAT →Open Trina Storage Elementa 2 →
Other comparisons
Gotion High-Tech Gotion Grid 5 MWh (ESD1331-05P5015) vs Pylontech Container L5000-BATGotion High-Tech Gotion Grid 5 MWh (ESD1331-05P5015) vs Trina Storage Elementa 2Pylontech Container L5000-BAT vs Sunwoda Energy NoahX 2.0 (NoahX-1500/4170, NoahX-1500/5015-L2)Pylontech Container L5000-BAT vs CATL TENERPylontech Container L5000-BAT vs Great Power Max-20HC-5000Pylontech Container L5000-BAT vs HiTHIUM ∞Power 6.25MWhPylontech Container L5000-BAT vs ZOE Energy Storage Z BOX-P 6200 2HPylontech Container L5000-BAT vs LG Energy Solution JF2 AC LINK (2HR / 4HR)